5 weeks since de-bracing…

So i’ve been brace free for 5 weeks now, it’s still a novelty 🙂  Sometimes I still forget the braces aren’t there and I go to do the same things that I did when they were on!

you may remember a while back i moaned about how my lower teeth were over filed when being narrowed for my attempt of invisalign? long story and i hated the shape of my bottom teeth. Today I finally got the finishing done to build them back up to the shape they should have been – I was itching to do this right away, but my orthodontist had said not to do any finishing for at least a month after the braces come off to give the teeth time to settle. The appointment was booked in for today weeks ago 🙂

The retainer journey is far easier then the braces and i forget they’re in a lot of the time – I just need to always make sure if I am having anything other than water, that they come out. I wear my retainers most of the time and am much more used to having them in, I’m very please to say I rarely heave with the top one in now (phew!)

I go back to the orthodontist in May for a check up, and will probably be full of “thank you’s” as usual 🙂

So, here are the pictures of my teeth, the correct shape, in the correct place and on correctly aligned jaws – what a journey xxx

IMG_5299 IMG_5302 IMG_5303

4 thoughts on “5 weeks since de-bracing…

  1. Congratulations Alison!

    I’m about 4 months in with my braces, prepping for the double jaw surgery expected in July 2016. It seems like such a long time away but I’m super excited. Similar to your case, I have an asymmetric face, as well as a narrow palette (which was correct with SARPE surgery in Jan 2015, but that’s another story).

    Just wanted to let you know, I really appreciate your posts, thank you for blogging your experience. Your smile is beautiful!

    Reply
    • Hi Jennifer,

      Thank you so so much for such lovely comments 🙂

      I remember my surgeon being unsure if he should do SARPE on me or the new technique of narrowing the lower jaw with the cut down the middle (euwwww!) right up until a few months before surgery. I sometimes wonder how it would have all turned out with SARPE and what the recovery of that would have been like.
      Are you based in the UK? Do you have a blog too? I’d love to read more about your jaw journey xxx Wishing you all the best for 2016 surgery, if I can be of any help please do let me know xx

      Reply

Leave a Reply

